New Music Friday ft. Sylvan Esso, Matt Maeson and Lana Del Rey, The Shins, and More

Sylvan Esso, Matt Maeson, The Shins

Sylvan Esso | Free Love

Sylvan Esso have released their third studio album Free Love. The new album has ten songs, including their recent singles “Ferris Wheel,” “Rooftop Dancing,” “Frequency,” and “Free.” The duo’s newest project was self-produced in their North Carolina studio. Sylvan Esso shared a break down of all their tracks and the album itself. Self Love is “about being increasingly terrified of the world around you and looking inward to remember all the times when loving other people seemed so easy, so that you can find your way back to that place. Free Love is for you to keep fighting for and with and through. Music is not escape. It is immersion.”

Stream the album below.


The Smashing Pumpkins | Confessions of a Dopamine Addict and Wrath

The Smashing Pumpkins dropped two new tracks from their forthcoming double album CYR, out November 27. The songs are called “Confessions of a Dopamine Addict” and “Wrath.” Pre-order for the album is now available. Check out both songs below.



Matt Maeson and Lana Del Rey | Hallucinogenics 

Matt Maeson has released a new version of his latest hit “Hallucinogenics” featuring Lana Del Rey. Last year Matt Maeson joined Lana Del Rey onstage where two performed the number one song on the alternative Billboard track. Hear Lana Del Rey’s melodic vocals effortlessly blend with Maeson’s below.


The Shins | The Great Divide

The Shins have returned with new music for the first time in over two years. They have a new single called “The Great Divide.” Their release follow’s the band’s 2017 album Heartworms. Accompanying the new song is a brand new music video directed by Paul Trillo. Frontman James Mercer talked about the process behind the new track and the creative routes the band decided to embark on for it. “We used everything from vintage synthesizers to iPhones, from a sixties Ludwig kit to an 808.” The band also shared, what they call, a “flipped” version of the new track, which is an attempt to show a new side to their work. The Shine previously did this with their album Heartworms.

Hear their latest work and check out the visual for it below.


Sufjan Stevens | The Ascension 

The album you’ve been waiting for is officially here. Sufjan Stevens dropped his new album The Ascension. The full-length album has a total of 12 tracks. “My objective for this album was simple: Interrogate the world around you,” said Stevens in an interview. “Question anything that doesn’t hold water. Exterminate all bullshit. Be part of the solution or get out of the way. Keep it real. Keep it true. Keep it simple. Keep it moving.”


Machine Gun Kelly ft. Halsey | forget me too

Machine Gun Kelly dropped his new album Tickets to Downfall. Included in the album is a collaboration with Halsey. The two teamed up for a track titled “forget me too.” Also included in the punk-rock jam is Blink-182’s Travis Barker playing the drums. Hear the song below.

Share this Posts

Share on twitter
Share on facebook
Share on linkedin

Related Posts